Surface Design Awards 2015 – Open for Entry

Organisers announce new judging panel


Surface Design Show today announced the launch of Surface Design Awards 2015 and introduced a new judging panel for next year’s event.  The Awards champion the best progressive design and use of innovative surfaces worldwide, and are believed to be the only awards to focus exclusively on surface design.

The twelve awards are divided into 6 categories with an interior and exterior surface for each one.  The Supreme Award is for the ‘best of the best’ from all the winners.


The full list of categories is:

Retail Interior Surface                                                                    Retail Exterior Surface

Commercial Interior Surface                                                       Commercial Exterior Surface

Housing Interior Surface                                                               Housing Exterior Surface

Public Building Interior Surface                                                  Public Building Exterior Surface

Light and Surface Interior                                                             Light and Surface Exterior

Temporary Structure                                                                     Supreme Award


These international awards are open to clients, architects, interior designers and contractors who have completed projects using exterior and interior surface materials in new, innovative and creative ways.  The projects must have been completed after 31st December 2012.

A new panel of judges has been selected this year under the chairmanship of Sarah Featherstone of Featherstone Young and Theresa Dowling of FX.

The full judging panel is:

Sarah Featherstone, Featherstone Young

Theresa Dowling, FX

Ralph Courteney, Jonathan Dunn Architects

Nicola Osborn, MoreySmith

Adam Richards, Adam Richards Architects

Annalie Riches, Riches Hawley Mikhail

Maria Smith, Studio Weave

Sharon Stammers and Martin Lipton, Light Collective


“The Awards have grown strongly since their launch in 2013 and it is encouraging to see them attract more international entrants each year”, said Sarah Featherstone. “Surfaces are such an important part of the design process so it is good to see an Award scheme that focuses on this area”.

The deadline for submissions is 26th September 2014 and the winners will be announced at the Surface Design Show on the 12th February 2015.

2014 supreme award






The 2014 Supreme Award was won by Central Investment Properties’ Mayfair House in London. The Architect was Squire & Partners; the Contractors were GPF Lewis/Tuchschmid.

112 entries were received in 2014, a 25% increase on the previous year. Entries were submitted from 11 different countries

Comments are closed.

    ISE 2018 right-hand skyscraper
    2018 A1 Buyers Guide
  • A1 Retail Twitter

  • Facebook