Recycling and waste management ‘Oscars’ launched for 2014

Awards for Excellence in Recycling and Waste Management now open



Widely acknowledged as the most prestigious recognition scheme in the sector, the Awards for Excellence in Recycling and Waste Management are now open for entries.

Hailed as the industry’s equivalent to the Oscars, the awards reward innovation, dedication and success within this growing sector. Submissions are welcomed from local authorities, commercial organisations, individuals and the community sector.

2014 is set to be the awards’ biggest year yet, with founders, the Environment Media Group, launching a new category and new award branding. There is also the chance for one of the first 100 entrants to win a free table of ten at the esteemed awards luncheon.

This year, the new Circular Economy Success award accompanies other categories including Retail Recycling Champion, Collection Crew of the Year, Design of a Waste Management Facility and Recycling Business of the Year. All 11 categories are free to enter and submissions must be received before the closing deadline of midday, 13th March 2014.

Entries are then scrutinised by an experienced judging panel, before winners are announced at the glittering awards ceremony on Thursday 1st May 2014. The ceremony, hosted by a high profile TV celebrity, takes place from 12pm-5pm at one of London’s most prestigious venues, The Landmark.

Speaking about the 2014 launch, editor, Steve Eminton, said: “The Awards for Excellence event is a high profile occasion in the recycling calendar, recognising industry innovation and success. The awards secure the strongest industry support – with 100% sponsorship of all categories. This year’s high profile sponsors include Biffa, Geesinknorba, Taylor Bins and Wastepack, and supporters including the charity partner, British Heart Foundation as well as the Environmental Services Association and LARAC.

As the UK’s recycling and waste management agenda continues to evolve, so too does the variety of organisations which are working hard to improve their environmental credentials. We hope that the fresh look of our 2014 awards will encourage more entries from the retail, facilities management sectors and collection crews, to name just a few, enabling us to highlight a greater range of achievements.”

The award categories are as follows:

  • Retail recycling champion
    • Circular economy success – new for 2014
    • Waste management initiative in the commercial and public sector
    • Design of a waste management facility
    • Collection crew of the year
    • The best community recycling initiative
    • Recycling business of the year
    • Civic amenity site of the year
    • The best local authority recycling initiative
    • Local authority recycling champion
    • Zero waste platinum award


For the full list of criteria and entry guidelines or to book your place at the awards, please visit or contact Iona Smith or Daniella Jarvie-Thomas at Environment Media Group by emailing or calling 020 7633 4524.

Comments are closed.

    2018 A1 Buyers Guide
  • A1 Retail Twitter

  • Facebook