New Design Britain winners announced

dess retailStunning design talent wins New Design Britain Award categories


INTERIORS UK, organised by UBM Live Built Environment is delighted to announce the winners of the much anticipated New Design Britain Awards 2014. Charlotte Millett, Bilge Nur Saltic, Chloe Atkins and Seema Shah pipped 16 entrants to the post from four categories with their captivating designs, celebrated for both their creativity and functionality.


–          Charlotte Millett won the Furniture category

–          Bilge Nur Saltik won Furnishing Accessories

–          Chloe Atkins  won Fabrics

–          Seema Shah won Surfaces

–          Bilge Nur Saltik won The People’s Choice Award *


Today, each winner was presented with a glass award live on site, at the NEC Birmingham to an audience of media, industry, independent and multiple retailers.


Charlotte Millett said on receiving her award “I am so happy to have won this award. It’s such a great accolade and makes all the hard work worthwhile. It’s great that the show supports emerging young design talent.”


Bilge Nur Salltik said on receiving her award “I am ecstatic to be a winner; it’s just great to get industry recognition and best of all being part of the show has given me the opportunity to network and get my product out there!”


Anthony Rayworth one of the judges commented “This year we have been spoilt for choice choosing a winner for each category, the standard has been so high.  I wish all the winners the best.”


Suzie Ager, Brand Director said: “We pride ourselves on celebrating young design talent and giving them a platform to industry, and I for one, am absolutely delighted with the calibre of entries this year and think we have five very worthy winners. We are committed to providing the industry with young design talent, new trends and inspirational business advice.”


Bilge Nur Saltik winner of the People’s Choice Award received £250 of Ercol vouchers. The four lucky category winners will each win a year’s placement industry alongside a year’s membership to ACID.


Judging the awards were a host of experts from the design and retail industries. Overseeing the Furniture and Furnishing Accessories categories are furniture designer and previous New Design Britain Winner Rob Scarlett, designer Anthony Rayworth of the Worshipful Company of Furniture Makers, Heal’s furniture buyer Elaine Boyle. Presiding over the Fabrics and Surfaces categories are Diane Goode, buyer at Fromental, John Lewis buyer Denise Phillips and Director of Rubelli, Vivienne Griffin. As well as Barbara Chandler, Evening Standard and Dids Macdonald from ACID joining the stellar line up.

Al l designs are displayed in Hall 2 for the duration of the show. Visit today to register for your complimentary ticket to the event.


*the product with the most likes on Facebook


Comments are closed.

    2018 A1 Buyers Guide
    2018 A1 Buyers Guide right-hand Skyscraper
  • A1 Retail Twitter

  • Facebook